Clay mashing Davey Hartz

Clay mashing – Verb – To take on the life style of a fictional character for research

During my clay mashing of Davey Hertz, I found myself changing my behaviour to suit that of the characteristics of the made up man. This usually happened as I made it to. For example, I muted myself for the day, which changed a lot about how and why I made decitions. On other occasions, I found I naturally changed the way I acted, unintentionally. The incident on the stairs was one such occasion:

Foxford school is a strictly keep to the left school, that meaning students (and staff) are to keep to the left hand side of the stairs and the corridoors. Do people listen to this? Do they hell! Both students and staff walk about all over the place, moving to wherever convinences them best.

It was a Tuesday lunchtime, so the stairwells were more or less empty. Therefor, there was no reason for anyone to be walking on the right (opposite of left) side of the staircase.

Me and my bestfriend, who was rather kindly explaining my situation to teachers and staff, was quiet happily walking up the stairs when two year nines (whom were younger than me) met us on the stairs, them walking on the wrong side of the stairs.

My friend went around the two girls, probably without even thinking, and, had I not been clay mashing, I would probably have done the same. Today, however, without thinking twice, I did not move. The two girls stared down at me (they were on the step above) and laughed, ordering me to move. With only Davey’s extremly limited vocabulary to use, I indicated with my hands that I was on the left, the right (opposite of wrong) side of the stairs. Either the girls did not understand me or did not care, as niether of them moved, only continuing to shout abuse, this time with rather confussed looks on their faces.

I remember gripping the banister tightly, and glancing up at my friend in and unintentional (and most uncharacteristic of myself) Davey style look for help, but I did not move.

Eventually the girls became bored of the deadlock an moved past me down the stairs. I looked up at my friend and grinned rather smuggly.

Now, that was pure Davey John Hertz through and through.

And I just made an incident on the stairs a big thing.

One thought on “Clay mashing Davey Hartz

Got any opinions? Advice for the author? Just want to have your say? Leave a comment.

